Setting Completion Tracking
What Does Completion Tracking Monitor?
Completion Tracking is a way for students to keep track of which items in Content they have accessed and completed. There are two types:
- Automatic (default): Triggered by opening the content item. For some activities, automatic tracking requires users to participate in a discussion, submit a file or form, or complete an assessment such as a quiz or survey before completion is successful.
- Manual: Learners can select the completion check box at the bottom of each content topic to indicate they have completed it.
Completion Tracking only applies to built-in Brightspace tools and does not track activities completed through External Learning Tools.
Important
Switching from automatic to manual completion tracking resets tracking for the content item. Students may have to return to the item to manually mark the item complete.
Setting Manual Completion Marking
Step 1
Either during the creation of an item in content or via Edit on the desired item, locate the Completion tab on the right side and select the Expand arrow to open the menu.
Step 2
Choose the radio button for Manually by learner to set manual completion marking
Step 3
When you've finished any other selections or edits, choose Save & Close.
Important
Students are not able to unselect Complete once they have manually marked an item as complete.
Check Completion Tracking for a Content Topic
To view completion tracking for a Content topic:
Step 1
Navigate to Content.
Step 2
Click the topic you want to check.
Step 3
In the Completion Summary tab, filter the results:
- All: view results for all learners.
- Completed: view learners who've completed the topic.
- Incomplete: view learners who haven't completed the topic.
Important
Completion Summary includes student information and is expanded by default. It may reopen as you move between areas of Content. If you are sharing or projecting your screen during class, be sure to Collapse Completion Summary (opens in a new tab) to prevent student information from being unintentionally displayed.
Note
Students will not appear in the completion summary for a content topic or activity until after the course has started.