Brightspace Course Site Reset
Important
Brightspace course site resets are permanent. Once reset, content cannot be recovered.
What is a Course Site Reset?
A Brightspace course site reset deletes ALL of the following:
- Content
- Assignments
- Discussions
- Quizzes
- Grade items & settings
- Groups
- Course files
- Intelligent Agents
Brightspace course site resets do not delete activities in external learning tools (e.g., FeedbackFruits, Top Hat, WeVideo, Panopto). However, all links to those materials will be deleted in the site itself.
Important
Brightspace course site resets do NOT remove enrolled students or other users from the Classlist. Any student work, submissions or grades in the site at reset will be deleted. The InTech Team does not advise resetting course sites that have student work or grades present.
A course site reset reverts a site to a completely blank slate. Once performed, resets cannot be undone. It is not possible to selectively delete some materials and not others. If you need to exercise precision in the deletion, please see: Delete Course Content (opens in a new tab).
Note
Grade book settings may be reset during a course site reset. Instructors are advised to verify all grade book settings after a course site reset. For further information, please see: Configure Grade Settings (opens in a new tab).
Request a Course Site Reset
Course site resets can only be performed by the Instructional Technologies Team with the express permission of the site's instructional team. Because course site resets cannot be reverted or cancelled once processed, the policy of the InTech Team is to require written confirmation from the instructional team for a course site.
To request a course site reset, please contact the Instructional Technologies team at intech@arizona.edu. The InTech Team will reply to your email with a form that must be completed & submitted prior to resetting the course site. Once the form is submitted, the site reset will be processed in the order received, typically within one business day.
Note
If your course uses Pay-One-Price/Inclusive Access, the module allowing access to the textbook is deleted during the reset. Please let the InTech Team know in your email that you need the module reinserted into the course site. For more information on Pay-One-Price/Inclusive Access, please visit Campus Store (opens in a new tab).
Important
Please ensure you've verified with all other site instructors to ensure everyone has had a chance to save/export any materials they desire to keep. For help copying a course site to a playspace, please see: Copy Site to Site (opens in a new tab); for help exporting a Brightspace package, please see: Export Brightspace Package (opens in a new tab).